Observations

EUCLID

Euclid

EUCLID - Vue d'artiste

EUCLID is an ESA space mission that was set up with the main purpose of understanding the accelerated expansion of the Universe. It will use two specific probes to investigate the nature of dark energy, dark matter and fundamental physics, using observational signatures capable of tracing the geometry of the Universe and the formation of structures: on the one hand, gravitational lens effect measurements (with a photometric and morphological survey of galaxies), and on the other hand, the spatial distribution of galaxies (with a galaxy spectroscopic survey). The mission also has an important aspect of "Legacy" for the extragalactic/cosmological community (PNCG), allowing the formation and evolution of galaxies and large structures in the universe to be studied. This is a massive "survey" type mission in imaging and spectroscopy.

The mission of the European satellite EUCLID is to map a whole section of the Universe in order to understand why the expansion of the Universe is accelerating; 10 French research laboratories are participating, including IRAP. IRAP is a stakeholder in the Scientific Ground Segment of the EUCLID mission (https://euclid.cnes.fr/), particularly on the activities of FP-SHE, PF-MER, PF-SPE, PF-SIR, PF-PHZ, PF-LE3. Among the activities related to the "SDC - FRANCE ACTIVITIES" sector is the system administration of the CODEEN platform. IRAP is also involved in the (SWG and IST) scientific groups.
As part of its support for the EUCLID mission, IRAP has positioned itself as a pilot for the summer schools "THE SCIENCE OF THE FUTURE GREAT COSMOLOGICAL RECOVERIES" which are organised each year for the EUCLID project. The management of activities at IRAP is under the scientific responsibility of A. Blanchard with the support of a local project manager (S. Brau-Nogué) in charge of the proper conduct of project monitoring tasks at IRAP.

Objective: Characterization of the nature of dark energy - Scientific Ground Segment (SGS)

Technical involvement

The technical skills required for this project are devoted to project management, to the development of high-level scientific software, and the contribution of expertise (S. Brau-Nogué) in Agile project management and collaborative platforms.
As a local project manager, S. Brau-Nogué also works as a local Quality Engineer. S. Brau-Nogué is also a member of the "SGS-FR-QUALITY" working group. T. Grégoire, CDD on CNES IR contract from October 2017, is the software engineer to support the activities of PFLE3 and PH-SIR ; he is in charge of carrying on the EUCLID Pipeline the scientific codes proposed by IRAP researchers.
S. Brau-Nogué is also a member of the "Applicative Admin Team" of the CODEEN sub-project (as COLLABORATIVE DEVELOPMENT ENVIRONMENT) initiated by the SGS-France System Team under the Best Effort principle.
Finally, for the EPO "THE SCIENCE OF THE FUTURE GREAT COSMOLOGICAL REVIEWS", A. Blanchard is the director of the school and a member of the Scientific Committee, Brahim Lamine and Arnaud Dupays are members of the Organizing Committee; E. Bourrec (IT) and C. Gaiti (Administration) contributes as 0.1 FTE for the organization of this annual recurrent school.

Further Resources :

Afficher le pied de page

Observations

EUCLID

Euclid

EUCLID - Vue d'artiste

EUCLID est une mission spatiale de l'ESA qui a été mise en place dans le but principal de comprendre l'expansion accélérée de l'Univers. Elle utilisera deux sondes spécifiques pour investiguer la nature de l'énergie sombre, de la matière sombre et de la physique fondamentale, à l'aide de signatures observationnelles capables de tracer la géométrie de l'Univers et la formation des structures : d’une part les mesures d’effet de lentilles gravitationnelles (avec un relevé photométrique et morphologique de galaxies), d’autre part la distribution spatiale des galaxies (avec un relevé spectroscopique de galaxies). La mission a aussi un important aspect de « Legacy » pour la communauté extragalactique/cosmologie (PNCG), permettant d’étudier la formation et l’évolution des galaxies et des grandes structures dans l’univers. Il s'agit d'une mission de type « relevé » massif en imagerie et en spectroscopie.

Le satellite européen EUCLID a pour mission de cartographier tout un pan de l’Univers, afin de comprendre pourquoi l'expansion de l'Univers s'accélère ; 10 laboratoires de recherche français y participent dont l’IRAP. L’IRAP est partie prenante dans le Segment Sol Scientifique de la mission EUCLID (https://euclid.cnes.fr/), particulièrement sur les activités PF-SHE, PF-MER, PF-SPE, PF-SIR, PF-PHZ, PF-LE3. Parmi les activités relatives au secteur « SDC – FRANCE ACTIVITIES » se trouve l’administration système de la plateforme CODEEN. L’IRAP est aussi impliqué dans les groupes scientifiques (SWG et IST).
Dans le cadre de l’accompagnement à la mission EUCLID, l’IRAP s’est positionné comme pilote pour les écoles d’été « LA SCIENCE DES FUTURS GRANDS RELEVES COSMOLOGIQUES » qui sont organisées chaque année pour le projet EUCLID. Le management des activités à l’IRAP est sous la responsabilité scientifique d’A. Blanchard avec le support d’un chef de projet local (S. Brau-Nogué) chargée de la bonne conduite des tâches de suivi du projet à l’IRAP.

Objectif : Caractérisation de la nature de l'énergie sombre - Segment Sol Scientifique (SGS)

Implication technique

Les compétences techniques sollicitées dans le cadre de ce projet sont consacrées au management de projet, au développement de logiciels scientifiques de haut niveau, et à l’apport d’une expertise (S. Brau-Nogué) en gestion de projet Agile, et en plateformes collaboratives.

Chef de projet local, S. Brau-Nogué assure aussi parallèlement la fonction d’Ingénieur Qualité local. S. Brau-Nogué est aussi membre du groupe de travail « SGS-FR-QUALITE» T. Grégoire, CDD sur contrat CNES IR à partir d’Octobre 2017, est l’ingénieur logiciel pour soutenir les activités des PFLE3 et PH-SIR ; il est chargé de porter sur le Pipeline EUCLID les codes scientifiques proposés par les chercheurs de l’IRAP.
S. Brau-Nogué est aussi membre de l’équipe « Applicative Admin Team » du sous-projet CODEEN (comme COLLABORATIVE DEVELOPMENT ENVIRONEMENT) initiée par la System Team du SGS-France sous le principe du Best Effort.
Enfin, pour l’EPO « LA SCIENCE DES FUTURS GRANDS RELEVES COSMOLOGIQUES », A. Blanchard est directeur de l’école et fait partie du Comité Scientifique, Brahim Lamine et Arnaud Dupays font partie du Comité d’Organisation ; E. Bourrec (Informatique) et C. Gaiti (Administration) contribuent à hauteur de 0,1 FTE pour l’organisation de cette école annuelle récurrente.

Ressources Complémentaires :

Afficher le pied de page