Observations

DustEM

The DustEM tool (derived from the model of Desert et al., 1990) raises the interest of an always growing number of astrophysicists working in the near infrared and the submillimeter / millimeter fields. This project was jointly developed by the IAS and the IRAP. This tool, which incorporates the physics of interstellar grains (excitation and emission mechanisms, loading) calculates the full (total and polarized) emission spectrum, the extinction spectrum and the charge of the grains of different composition and structure according to their size distribution and their optical and thermal properties. DustEM was designed to easily include experimental or theoretical data related to the properties of the grains.

dustem

The DustEM (Dust Emissivity) observation service was certified in January 2014, within the OV-GSO.

Research Group : MICMAC

  • Scientific Responsible : D. Paradis
  • Technical Manager : JM. Glorian

Scientific and technical involvement of IRAP

The Fortran code has been made available (http://www.ias.u-psud.fr/DUSTEM/) simultaneously with the release of the publication (Compiègne et al., 2011). The DustEM_wrap tool, coded in IDL, fully developed at IRAP is a model / data in emission-extinction-polarization minimization interface. It allows the automated modeling of the SEDs extracted from the extended emission maps (like IRAS, COBE, Planck, Herschel, PILOT, etc ...) and / or spectral data in the mid-distant infrared and submillimetric domains (like Spitzer, FIRAS, SOFIA, ALMA ...), with the most recent models of dust. This tool is available to the community via the internet page located at : http://dustemwrap.irap.omp.eu/, where the user can download the code, send us comments or remarks, and leave his/her email address to be notified of new versions of the tool.

Objectives and Planning

DustEM will be subsequently used as an engine of a web interface that allows the users to model their data interactively. This interface will calculate and trace the emission of models of recent grains for different radiation fields and with the possibility for the user to recover the data files. Models that couple the emission of grains with models of aggregates will also be incorporated in DustEM. The tool will benefit from advances in astrophysics laboratory (nanograins platform at the OMP / IRAP). Thereafter we will make this tool compatible with the Virtual Observatory.

Further Resources :

Afficher le pied de page

Observations

DustEM

L’outil DustEM (dérivé du modèle de Désert et al., 1990) intéresse de plus en plus les astrophysiciens travaillant de l’Infrarouge proche au submillimétrique/millimétrique. Ce projet a été développé conjointement par l’IAS et l’IRAP. Cet outil, qui incorpore la physique des grains interstellaires(mécanismes d’excitation et d’émission, charge) calcule le spectre complet d’émission (totale et polarisée), le spectre d’extinction et la charge de grains de composition et structure variées en fonction de leur distribution de taille et de leurs propriétés optiques et thermiques. DustEM a été conçu de façon à inclure facilement des données expérimentales ou théoriques sur les propriétés des grains.

dustem

Le service d’observation DustEM (Dust Emissivity) a été labellisé en janvier 2014, au sein de l’OV-GSO.

Groupe thématique : MICMAC

  • Responsable scientifique : D. Paradis
  • Responsable technique : JM. Glorian

Implication scientifique et technique

Le code en fortran a été rendu disponible (http://www.ias.u-psud.fr/DUSTEM/), simultanément avec la sortie de la publication (Compiègne et al., 2011). L’outil DustEM_wrap, codé en IDL, développé dans son intégralité à l’IRAP, est une interface de minimisation modèle/données en émission-extinction-polarisation. Il permet la modélisation automatisée des SEDs extraites des cartes d’émission étendues (comme IRAS, COBE, Planck, Herschel, PILOT, etc …) et/ou de données spectrales dans l’infrarouge moyen-lointain et submillimétrique (comme Spitzer, FIRAS, SOFIA, ALMA, …), à l’aide des modèles de poussières les plus récents. Cet outil est disponible à la communauté via la page internet http://dustemwrap.irap.omp.eu/ sur laquelle l’utilisateur peut télécharger le code, nous envoyer des commentaires ou remarques, et laisser son adresse email pour être informé des nouvelles versions de l’outil.

Objectifs et Planning

DustEM sera par la suite utilisé comme moteur d’une interface web permettant aux utilisateurs de modéliser leurs données de façon interactive. Cette interface calculera et tracera l’émission de modèles de grains récents, pour différents champs de rayonnement et avec possibilité pour l’utilisateur de récupérer les fichiers de données. Des modèles couplant l’émission des grains avec des modèles d’agrégats seront également incorporés dans DustEM. L’outil bénéficiera des avancées en astrophysique de laboratoire (plateforme nanograins à l’OMP/IRAP). Par la suite nous rendrons cet outil compatible avec l’Observatoire Virtuel.

Ressources Complémentaires :

Afficher le pied de page