Observations

MUSE-GT

Muse

MUSE (Multi Unit Spectroscopic Explorer) is an unusual spectrograph which equips the ESO VLT since the beginning of the year 2014. IRAP has contributed to the construction of the instrument and is now involved in the management of the data acquired by the instrument.

Objective: Observing distant and young galaxies to better understand how ours was formed.

The IRAP scientific and technical staff took part in the construction of the instrument (MUSE) and now handle the data management (MUSE-DataBase):

MUSE

Construction and testing of the optical input module of the integral field spectrograph for one of the VLT telescopes of ESO whose first light is scheduled for 2013, and implementation of the control and monitoring softwares of the MUSE instrument.

Research Group : GAHEC

  • Scientific Responsible :Th. Contini
  • Technical Manager : L. Pares
    • Other IRAP employees involved : M. Larrieu, M. Dupieux, H. Valentin, P. Couderc, N. Girard
  • Download the project presentation :

MUSE DataBase

Within the MUSE consortium, IRAP is involved in the implementation of the data management leading to the data reduction and dissemination, following the Astrowise (MUSEWise) concept which allows complete traceability of the different stages.

Technical involvement :

Within the framework of this project, IRAP is responsible for the development of tools designed to control the quality of data processing and validation of the data produced. It will also develop one of the two or three data centers of the consortium which will be responsible for the data reduction of the guaranteed time and the distribution of final products. This work is under the responsibility of scientists involved in the MUSE consortium. Most of the technical implementation and of the server management are made by the technical team and the Computer Service.

Research Group : GAHEC

  • Scientific Responsibles : G. Soucail, N. Bouché
  • Technical Manager : P. Maeght
    • Other IRAP employees involved : M. Larrieu, M. Lafon, Th. Louge, A. Coutenoir
  • Download the project presentation :

Objectives and Planning :

Prototyping planned for late 2011, setting up in 2012, for a start in 2013. The data arrives in early 2014.

Further Resources :

Afficher le pied de page

Observations

MUSE-GT

Muse

MUSE (Multi Unit Spectroscopic Explorer) est un spectrographe hors du commun qui équipe le VLT de l'ESO depuis le début de l'année 2014. L'IRAP a participé à la construction de l'instrument et contribue dorénavant au management des données acquises par l'instrument.

Objectif : observer de lointaines et jeunes galaxies pour mieux comprendre comment la nôtre s'est formée.

Les personnels scientifiques et techniques de l'IRAP ont participé à la construction de l'instrument (MUSE) et gèrent dorénavant le management des données (MUSE-DataBase) :

MUSE

Construction et tests du module optique d’entrée du spectrographe intégral de champ pour l’un des télescopes VLT de l’ESO dont la 1ère lumière est prévue en 2013, et réalisation des logiciels de contrôle-commande de l’instrument MUSE.

Groupe thématique : GAHEC

  • Responsable scientifique :Th. Contini
  • Responsable technique : L. Pares
    • Autres personnels techniques impliqués : M. Larrieu, M. Dupieux, H. Valentin, P. Couderc, N. Girard
  • Télécharger la fiche projet :

MUSE DataBase

Au sein du consortium MUSE, l'IRAP participe à la mise en place du management des données pour la réduction et la diffusion des données qui se feront sous une adaptation du concept d'Astrowise (MUSEWise) qui permet une traçabilité complète des différentes étapes.

Implication technique :

Dans le cadre de ce projet, l'IRAP a en charge le développement des outils de contrôle qualité du traitement des données et la validation des données produites. Il va aussi développer l'un des deux ou trois centres de données du consortium qui aura en charge la réduction des données du temps garanti et la distribution des produits finaux. Ce travail est conduit sous la responsabilité de scientifiques impliqués dans le consortium MUSE. La majeure partie de la réalisation technique ainsi que la gestion des serveurs sont faites par l'équipe technique en interface avec le SI.

Groupe thématique : GAHEC

  • Responsable scientifique : G. Soucail, N. Bouché
  • Responsable technique : P. Maeght
    • Autres personnels techniques impliqués : M. Larrieu, M. Lafon, Th. Louge, A. Coutenoir
  • Télécharger la fiche projet :

Objectifs et Planning :

Prototypage prévu pour fin 2011, mise en place courant 2012, pour un démarrage en 2013. Les données arrivent début 2014.

Afficher le pied de page