Observations

PIRENEA SET-UP

PIRENEA (Piège à Ions pour la Recherche et l'Etude de Nouvelles Espèces Astrochimiques; Ion Trap for the Research and Study of New Astrochemical Species) is an original set-up for laboratory astrophysics dedicated to the study of the photophysics and chemistry of macromolecules and nanograins in interstellar conditions.

Pirenea_general

General view of the PIRENEA set-up

Pirenea_open

View of the ion trap and internal cryogenic shield

 

Scientific team : Christine Joblin (Director of Research, CNRS),  Hassan Sabbah (Assistant Professor, UPS)

Technical team : Anthony Bonnamy (Research Engineer, CNRS-OMP), Loïc Noguès (Assistant Engineer, CNRS), David Murat (Engineer, CDD), Odile Coeur-Joly (Research Engineer, CNRS)

Objectives:

Conditions in interstellar space are very different from those usually found in the laboratory. They are characterized by a very-high vacuum (50-106 atoms/cm3) and temperatures that can be as low as 10-50 K. Physical and chemical processes in these extreme conditions involve slow processes such as infrared (IR) cooling, photodissociation near threshold and radiative association. Their study in the laboratory requires experimental techniques such as electromagnetic traps or storage rings in order to access to the long timescales of interest for astrochemistry. The PIRENEA set-up consists of a cold ion cyclotron resonance cell and several interfaces to study the photophysics and chemistry of macromolecules and nanograins in interstellar conditions.

The studied species are polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) and related species (carbon clusters, fullerenes, PAH clusters, complexes of PAHs with Fe et Si). The main objective is to get further insights into which species are abundant in astrophysical environments by studying their stability, chemical reactivity, and spectroscopic signatures. Such species can contain up to 20% of the carbon in the Galaxy and play a major role in the evolution of astronomical objects. The performed laboratory studies aim at guiding the analysis of observations in the IR-mm range using both ground-based telescopes (VLT, IRAM, ALMA…) and space/airborne observatories (ISO, Spitzer, Herschel, SOFIA…). There are also implications for the observations in the ultraviolet-visible range (analysis of the UV extinction curve, diffuse interstellar bands, extended red emission,...).

Local Context and Collaborations:

The PIRENEA set-up is part of the Nanograin Platform (PIRENEA-ESPOIRS) of IRAP/OMP and is supported amongst other laboratory astrophysics activities by the Programme National de Physique et Chimie du Milieu Interstellaire (http://www.pcmi.univ-montp2.fr/) of the INSU-AA/CNRS. The scientific activity involves several fields (astrophysics / chemistry / physics). In Toulouse, this concerns the Transverse Scientific Action Molecules and grains: from the laboratory to the Universe supported by the Midi-Pyrénées Observatory (2011-2015) as well as  the working group Dusty Plasmas and Cosmic Dust from the  RTRA Sciences et Technologies pour l’Aéronautique et l’Espace (2013-2014) in collaboration with other institutes of the  Université Paul Sabatier Toulouse III: LCPQ-IRSAMC, LCAR-IRSAMC and LAPLACE. Scientific collaborations involve also at the national level, the ISMO (Orsay), the Synchrotron SOLEIL and the ILM (Lyon), as well as research teams at the European and international levels from the CSIC Madrid, Cagliari Observatory, Ottawa University and Cologne University.

Recent contracts:

  • ERC Synergy, Nanocosmos (2014-2020)
  • Project of the RTRA STAE, Key processes in dust growth in plasma reactors and evolved stars (2014-2017)
  • ANR-2010-BLAN-0501, Gas-phase PAH research for the interstellar medium (GASPARIM) (2010-2014)
  • FEDER n°34172 Development of instrumentation at the Midi-Pyrénées Observatory (2009-2011)

Description:

The PIRENEA set-up combines the performances of a Fourier transform ion cyclotron resonance mass spectrometer (FT-ICR MS) with a cryogenic environment. The temperature is ~ 35 K in the ion trap (ICR cell) and the pressure is less than 10-10 mbar, which allow us approaching the physical conditions of the interstellar medium. With this technique, one can select a species of interest (given m/z ratio) in the ICR cell by selective ejection and perform studies on the isolated ions. The species are  trapped under the conjugated action of a magnetic field and a quadrupolar electric field. The set-up is made of a superconductor magnet (5 Tesla), an ultra-high vacuum chamber with cryogenic shields, a desorption/ ionisation laser system for the ion production and the electronics for the excitation/detection of ions. The central part of the experiment is coupled with interfaces for photophysical, chemical and spectroscopic studies, which consist of an OPO laser, a Xe arc spectral lamp, gas inlets, a PAH oven, an electron source and an atomic H source.

 

PhD thesis:

  • Photophysique des molécules polycycliques aromatiques hydrogénées d’intérêt interstellaire avec l’expérience PIRENEA, Francesca Useli-Bacchitta, Université de Toulouse [UPS], 19/11/2009.
  • Le dispositif PIRENEA dans l’étude des interactions gaz/grain dans la chimie interstellaire : mise en place d’une procédure expérimentale, Natacha Bruneleau, Université de Toulouse [UPS], 27/09/2007.
  • Montage et qualification de l'expérience PIRENEA. Photophysique des PAHs interstellaires: simulations et mesures expérimentales, Catherine Pech, Université de Toulouse [UPS], 14/12/2001.
Afficher le pied de page

Observations

Expérience PIRENEA

PIRENEA (Piège à Ions pour la Recherche et l'Etude de Nouvelles Espèces Astrochimiques) est une expérience d'astrophysique de laboratoire originale destinée à étudier la physico-chimie de macromolécules et nanograins en ambiance interstellaire.

Pirenea_general

General view of the PIRENEA set-up

Pirenea_open

View of the ion trap and internal cryogenic shield

 
  • Equipe Scientifique : Christine Joblin (DR CNRS),  Hassan Sabbah (MdC UPS)
  • Equipe Technique : Anthony Bonnamy (IR, CNRS-OMP), Loïc Noguès (AI, CNRS), David Murat (IE, CDD), Odile Coeur-Joly (IR, CNRS)

Objectifs :

Les conditions de l’espace interstellaire sont très différentes des conditions habituelles du laboratoire. Elles se caractérisent par un vide très poussé (50-106 atomes/cm3) et des températures qui peuvent être très basses (10-50 K). La physico-chimie dans ces conditions extrêmes met en jeu des processus lents comme le refroidissement infrarouge, la dissociation près du seuil et l’association radiative. Leur étude en laboratoire nécessite de faire appel à des techniques de pièges électromagnétiques ou d'anneaux de stockage afin d'accéder aux temps longs qui sont pertinents pour la physico-chimie interstellaire. Le dispositif PIRENEA comprend une cellule à résonance cyclotronique refroidie ainsi qu'un certain nombre d'interfaces photophysiques et chimiques qui permettent d'étudier la physico-chimie de macromolécules et nanograins en ambiance interstellaire.

A ce jour les espèces étudiées sont les molécules polycycliques aromatiques hydrogénées (PAH) et espèces dérivées (agrégats carbonés, fullerènes, agrégats de PAH, complexes de PAH avec Fe et Si). Il s'agit de mieux cerner la nature de ces espèces dans les milieux astrophysiques en étudiant leurs propriétés physico-chimiques et spectroscopiques. Renfermant jusqu'à 20% du carbone de notre galaxie, ces espèces peuvent jouer un rôle important dans l'évolution des objets astronomiques. Les données de laboratoire sont fondamentales pour la valorisation scientifique de données obtenues dans le domaine IR-mm avec des télescopes au sol (VLT, IRAM, ALMA…) et spatiaux/ballons (ISO, Spitzer, Herschel, SOFIA…). Il y a également un champ d'application dans le domaine UV-visible (analyse de la courbe d'extinction UV, des bandes diffuses interstellaires, émission rouge étendue).

Contexte local et collaborations :

L’expérience PIRENEA fait partie de la plateforme nanograins (PIRENEA-ESPOIRS) de l'IRAP/OMP et des activités d'astrophysique de laboratoire soutenues par le Programme National de Physique et Chimie du Milieu Interstellaire (http://www.pcmi.univ-montp2.fr/) de l'INSU-AA/CNRS. Son exploitation scientifique fédère différentes disciplines (astrophysique / chimie / physique). Elle bénéficie au niveau toulousain d'actions d'animation scientifique: l'Action Scientifique Transverse Molécules et grains : du laboratoire à l’Univers de l’Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées (2011-2015) et le chantier Plasmas poussiéreux et poussières cosmiques du RTRA Sciences et Technologies pour l’Aéronautique et l’Espace (2013-2014) en collaboration avec les laboratoires LCPQ-IRSAMC, LCAR-IRSAMC et LAPLACE de l’Université Paul Sabatier Toulouse III. Ces collaborations scientifiques s'étendent au niveau national avec l'ISMO (Orsay), le Synchrotron SOLEIL, l'ILM (Lyon) ainsi qu'au niveau européen et international (CSIC Madrid, Observatoire de Cagliari, Université d'Ottawa, Université de Cologne).

Contrats récents :

  • ERC Synergy, Nanocosmos (2014-2020)
  • Projet du RTRA STAE, Processus clés dans la croissance des poussières en réacteurs plasmas et dans les étoiles  (2014-2017)
  • ANR-2010-BLAN-0501, Propriétés des PAH en phase gazeuse pour le milieu interstellaire (GASPARIM) (2010-2014)
  • FEDER n°34172 Développement de l’instrumentation de l’Observatoire Midi-Pyrénées (2009-2011)

Description :

Le dispositif PIRENEA combine les performances d’un instrument de spectrométrie de masse à résonance cyclotronique ionique à transformée de Fourier (FT-ICR MS) avec un environnement cryogénique. Les conditions de température (T ~ 35 K dans le piège à ions) et de pression (P < 10-10 mbar) atteintes dans ce dispositif permettent de réaliser des expériences dans des conditions qui s'approchent de celles du milieu interstellaire. Cette technique permet aussi de sélectionner dans la cellule ICR les espèces d’intérêt (rapport m/z donné) par éjection sélective et de mener des études sur les ions isolés. Les espèces sont piégées sous l'action conjuguée d'un champ magnétique et d'un champ électrique quadripolaire. L'expérience se compose donc d'un aimant supraconducteur (5 Tesla), d'une enceinte à ultravide comprenant des écrans cryogéniques, d'un dispositif de désorption/ionisation laser pour la production des ions et d'une électronique d'excitation/ détection pour leur analyse. D'autres interfaces sont couplées à la partie centrale de l'expérience afin de permettre des études de physico-chimie (photodissociation, réactivité chimique...) et de spectroscopie: laser accordable OPO, lampe spectrale à arc Xe, rampe à gaz, four à PAH, source d'électrons, source d'H atomique.

Principle_Pirenea

Scheme of the PIRENEA set-up

Thèses :

  • Photophysique des molécules polycycliques aromatiques hydrogénées d’intérêt interstellaire avec l’expérience PIRENEA, Francesca Useli-Bacchitta, Université de Toulouse [UPS], 19/11/2009.
  • Le dispositif PIRENEA dans l’étude des interactions gaz/grain dans la chimie interstellaire : mise en place d’une procédure expérimentale, Natacha Bruneleau, Université de Toulouse [UPS], 27/09/2007.
  • Montage et qualification de l'expérience PIRENEA. Photophysique des PAHs interstellaires: simulations et mesures expérimentales, Catherine Pech, Université de Toulouse [UPS], 14/12/2001.
Afficher le pied de page