IRAP > Observations > Laboratory experiments > Plateforme Nanograins > NANOGRAINS PLATFORM (IRAP-OMP)

Observations

NANOGRAINS PLATFORM (IRAP-OMP)

DSC00003small

Diposotif expérimental ESPOIRS

The Nanograins platform includes the laboratory astrophysics devices PIRENEA (Ion Trap for the Research and Study of New Astrochemical Species) and ESPOIRS (Spectroscopic Studies of Optical Properties in Infrared and Submillimetry of Interstellar Grain Analogues). PIRENEA consists of an ion resonance cell cooled to ~30 K in an ultra-high vacuum chamber (~10-11 mbar), equipped with different interfaces that allow to study the physicochemical properties of nanograins and PAH molecules in cosmic environment. The ESPOIRS experiment is a vacuum FTIR infrared spectrometer dedicated to the study of the optical properties of grains at low temperatures with a recent extension towards high temperatures. The platform is used in several scientific studies as part of the European Training Network (ETN) EUROPAH (2016-2020), the ERC Synergy Nanocosmos project (2014-2020) and long-term projects with collaborators at national and international level (GdR EMIE, PN PCMI, collaborations with the University of Ottawa, Cologne).

Two other operations are connected to the platform but their development suffers from limited resources, particularly in terms of technical staff. This is on the one hand the IR emission project, an R&D project. This project received an OMP FEDER Instrumentation funding  (2009-2011) and support from RTRA with the 3PCkeys project (2014-2017). The objective is to measure the IR emission of PAH molecules under UV excitation as in astrophysical environments and using infrared astronomy detectors. We have obtained ESO detectors on loan and recovered the TIMMI instruments from the VLT and C10μ from the CFHT and we have a number of contacts at the ESO, CEA-Saclay and Observatoire de Lyon. This is a very difficult experimental project but with great potential with the upcoming launch of the James Webb Space Telescope. On the other hand, we are trying to set up the scientific database "Cosmic PAH Analogues" which gathers all our scientific results with possible interfaces with the VAMDC portal (https://portal.vamdc.eu/). This work will allow us to gain visibility and meet the data management plan constraints that are part of the funding requests to Europe but also to other partners such as the ANR.

Objectives : Inter and circumstellar dust properties including PAH (polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons) and laboratory astrophysics in relation to ground and space observations (IR and millimetric: Spitzer, Herschel, Planck, IRAM, ALMA, VLT, JWST, SPICA...)

Research Group : MICMAC

  • Scientific Responsibles : C. Joblin,  K. Demyk
  • TechnicalManagers : A. Bonnamy, L. Noguès

Technical involvement

  • Development of spectroscopic diagnostics:
    •  with PIRENEA, UV-visible dissociation spectroscopy using tunable lasers and an Xe arc lamp.
    •  with HOPE, development of PAH IR spectroscopy and high temperature nanograins.
  • Development of the experimental database.
  • Development of the scientific database "Cosmic PAH analogues".

Objectives and planning

  • Development and integration of a high temperature cell for PAH IR spectroscopy in the FTIR ESPOIRS spectrometer.
  • Implementation of the experimental database internal to users. Generation of the file name catalogue by form.
  • Contribution to the dokuwiki space set up by the IS (http://cosmic-pah.irap.omp.eu) with the scientific results of PIRENEA. First step of public dissemination before setting up a specific database.
Afficher le pied de page

IRAP > Observations > Expériences de laboratoire > Plateforme Nanograins > PLATEFORME NANOGRAINS (IRAP-OMP)

Observations

PLATEFORME NANOGRAINS (IRAP-OMP)

DSC00003small

Diposotif expérimental ESPOIRS

La plateforme Nanograins regroupe les dispositifs d'astrophysique de laboratoire PIRENEA (Piège à Ions pour la Recherche et l'Etude de Nouvelles Espèces Astrochimiques) et ESPOIRS (Etudes Spectroscopiques des Propriétés Optiques dans l'InfraRouge et le Submillimétrique d'analogues de grains interstellaires). PIRENEA est constitué d’une cellule à résonance ionique refroidie à ~30 K dans une enceinte à ultra-vide (~10-11 mbar), équipée de différentes interfaces qui permettent d'étudier les propriétés physicochimiques de nanograins et molécules PAH en ambiance cosmique. L'expérience ESPOIRS est un spectromètre infrarouge FTIR sous-vide dédié à l'étude des propriétés optiques des grains à basse température avec une extension récente vers les hautes températures. La plateforme est utilisée dans le cadre de plusieurs études scientifiques s’inscrivant dans le réseau européen de formation (ETN) EUROPAH (2016-2020), le projet ERC Synergy Nanocosmos (2014-2020) et des projets de long terme avec des collaborateurs au niveau national et international (GdR EMIE, PN PCMI, collaborations avec l’Univ. d’Ottawa, de Cologne).
Deux autres opérations sont connectées à la plateforme mais leur développement souffre de ressources limitées en particulier au niveau du personnel technique. Il s’agit d’une part du projet d’émission IR, projet de type R&D. Ce projet a bénéficié d’un financement FEDER Instrumentation OMP (2009-2011) et du soutien du RTRA avec le projet 3PCkeys (2014-2017). L’objectif est de mesurer l’émission IR de molécules PAH sous excitation UV comme dans les milieux astrophysiques et en utilisant des détecteurs de l’astronomie infrarouge. Nous avons obtenu en prêt des détecteurs de l’ESO et récupéré les instruments TIMMI du VLT et C10μ du CFHT et nous bénéficions d’un certain nombre de contacts à l’ESO, au CEA-Saclay et à l’Observatoire de Lyon. C’est un projet expérimental très difficile mais à très fort potentiel avec le lancement prochain du James Webb Space Telescope. D’autre part, nous essayons de mettre en place la base de données scientifiques « Cosmic PAH Analogues » qui regroupe l’ensemble de nos résultats scientifiques avec des interfaces possibles avec le portail VAMDC (https://portal.vamdc.eu/). Ce travail nous permettra de gagner en visibilité et de remplir les contraintes de data management plan qui font partie des demandes de financement à l’Europe mais aussi à d’autres partenaires comme l’ANR.

Objectifs : Propriétés des poussières inter- et circumstellaires incluant les PAH (hydrocarbures aromatiques polycycliques) et Astrophysique de laboratoire en lien avec les observations sol et espace (IR et millimétrique : Spitzer, Herschel, Planck, IRAM, ALMA, VLT, JWST, SPICA…)

Groupe thématique : MICMAC

  • Responsables Scientifiques : C. Joblin,  K. Demyk
  • Responsable Technique : A. Bonnamy, L. Noguès

Implication technique

  • Développement de diagnostics spectroscopiques :
    • avec PIRENEA, spectroscopie de dissociation UV-visible utilisant des lasers accordables et une lampe à arc Xe.
    • avec ESPOIRS, développement de la spectroscopie IR de PAH et nanograins à haute température.
  • Développement de la base de données expérimentales.
  • Développement de la base de données scientifiques "Cosmic PAH analogues".

Objectifs et planning

  • Développement et intégration d’une cellule à haute température pour la spectroscopie IR des PAH dans le spectromètre FTIR ESPOIRS.
  • Mise en place de la base de données expérimentales interne aux utilisateurs. Génération du catalogue de noms de fichiers par formulaire.
  • Contribution à l’espace dokuwiki mis en place par le SI (http://cosmic-pah.irap.omp.eu) avec les résultats scientifiques de PIRENEA. Première étape de diffusion publique avant la mise en place d’une base de données spécifique.
Afficher le pied de page